Before contacting us please consider these questions:

The first step in ISTQB's certification is the Foundation Level. Holders of the Foundation Certificate are then able to go on to a higher-level software testing qualification. The Foundation Level qualification is aimed at anyone involved in software testing. This includes people in roles such as testers, test analysts, test engineers, test consultants, test managers, user acceptance testers and software developers. This Foundation Level qualification is also appropriate for anyone who wants a basic understanding of software testing, such as project managers, quality managers, software development managers, business analysts, IT directors and management Consultants.

Please see our website for further information:

There is some preparation material as well as a recommended reading list on the ISTQB website.

You can consult the Foundation Level 2011 Syllabus on the following link:

You can evaluate your preparation level by taking the sample exam paper:

In addition to the Syllabus, you can also study the glossary of testing terms:

You can also find some books and study guides for all certification levels listed here:

Please contact our Member Board representative in your country for more information on trainings, examinations, test centres and fees.

The Expert Level certification is under development at the moment. The Expert Test Manager syllabus is released and training providers are currently creating their courses for accreditation. We expect the first courses to be available in 2013. Please keep an eye on our website for further updates.

Please refer to the website for further information on the Expert Level:

In order to do the Expert Level certification, you need to first have completed both the Foundation Level and one of the Advanced Level Certifications.

Please note that ISTQB has a member board representative in your country. Please contact them directly for more information on Expert Level testing and certification.

To receive Advanced Level certification, candidates must first hold the Foundation Certificate and satisfy the Exam Board which examines them that they have sufficient practical experience to be considered Advanced Level qualified.

Please refer to the relevant Exam Board to understand their specific practical experience criteria. You can also contact your local testing board for further information on certification as well as trainings, fees and testing centres in your area.

There is some information available on our website to help you to prepare for the exams such as reference books, the syllabus and the glossary of testing terms.

Reference Books -

Syllabus -

Glossary -

Please note that ISTQB has a member board representative in your country. They will also be able to give you some practical advice on preparing for the examination as well as trainings.