ISTQB® President, Olivier Denoo, has presented Rik Marselis with the 2022 ISTQB® Software Testing Excellence Award.

Marrakesh, Morocco, 2022-10-20

Mr. Marselis was confirmed as the 2022 Award winner in May 2022; the community was delighted that he was able to join in Marrakesh, Morocco during the General Assembly days to receive the Award in person and most especially be part of the very special ISTQB® 20 year Jubilee celebrations.

Rik Marselis has more than 40 years of experience in systems development, quality, and testing. He is currently a Principal Quality Consultant at Sogeti in the Netherlands. He is a fellow of Sogeti’s R&D network SogetiLabs. He has been a member of the Belgium and Netherlands Testing Qualifications Board (BNTQB) for several years and contributed to many ISTQB® syllabi.

He has assisted multiple organizations in establishing and improving their quality & testing approach, setting up their quality & test organization, and he has acted as a Quality Coach, QA Consultant, Test Manager, and Quality Supervisor.

He is a well-appreciated presenter at events that include the A4Q Congress 2021, EuroSTAR (multiple years), Scottish Testing Group 2021, Test & Quality Summit 2020, TestNet 2020-2019, Testing United 2020, Testing Portugal 2019, Expo:QA 2019, Test:Fest 2019, and numerous other conferences throughout Europe and beyond. He has also been the program committee chair for several. In addition, he has been an honorary member of TestNet (after being a board member for 9 years, of which 5 years chair).

He is a very experienced trainer (ISTQB®, TMAP, TPI, Exploration, Agile, DevOps, and much more). He publishes papers, podcasts, videos, and books including “Quality for DevOps teams” (2020). He is the Chair of the TMAP Special Interest Group.

On presenting the Award Mr. Denoo stated, “It is my honor and privilege to have presented Rik with this well-deserved Award in recognition of his significant contribution to the art of testing and his commitment to quality engineering during a career spanning more than 40 years. Rik has surely made a tangible difference to our profession with his insight and knowledge which he is always very willing to share with others – many congratulations from myself, the ISTQB® Executive, and the General assembly!”

Mr. Marselis was thrilled to be able to accept the Award, “Testing and Quality Engineering have been my lifelong passion. This Award from the ISTQB® community is very meaningful and much appreciated; it strengthens me to continue to contribute to the quality engineering & testing community. Thank you, especially to those who nominated me!"

The ISTQB® Software Testing Excellence Award is a prize given for outstanding contributions to the field of software quality. The award recognizes achievement in innovation, research, and the promotion of the software testing profession. Find out more about the Award here.

Most recent

ISTQB® releases Certified Tester Game Testing v1.0.1 (CT-GaMe)
This is the first CT-GaMe certification and is part of the Specialist stream within the ISTQB® Certified Tester Scheme. It offers a next step after the ISTQB® Certified Tester Foundation Level (CTFL) for anyone involved in software testing wishing to broaden their knowledge of game testing or anyone who is pursuing a specialist career in game testing. The qualification is also aimed at anyone involved in game software engineering who wants to gain a better understanding of game testing.
ISTQB® Certified Tester Advanced Level Agile Test Leadership at Scale v1.0 (MVP) has been released
ISTQB® Certified Tester Advanced Level Agile Test Leadership at Scale v1.0 (MVP) has been released
Istqb compony logo

2022 ISTQB not-for-profit association
280, Boulevard du Souverain | 1160 Brussels | Belgium | No. 0889.625.305

Follow Us
facebook icon
twittwr icon
linkedin icon
youtube icon