Expert Level Syllabi

Expert Level

Expert Level provides in-depth, practically-oriented certification courses in a range of different testing subjects. Courses provided at Expert Level build on the knowledge and experience obtained at the Advanced Level.

Expectations: What is an Expert?

An expert is a person with the special skills and knowledge representing mastery of a particular testing subject. Being a testing expert means possessing and displaying special skills and knowledge derived from training and experience and being able to apply that knowledge in real-life situations.

A testing expert is one that combines a broad understanding of testing in general with an in-depth understanding in a special test area. An in-depth understanding means sufficient knowledge of testing theory and practice to be able to influence the direction that an organization and/or project takes when creating, implementing and executing testing activities related to the special area.

Focus on practical application

Each syllabus defines the expectations of an expert in that specific subject area. The content is supported by explicit Learning Objectives which emphasise the high expectations of a testing expert.

At least 50% of the course time will be spent on practical exercise and discussions.

What qualifications are currently offered?

  • Improving the Test Process
    • Part 1: Assessing the test process
    • Part 2: Implementing test process improvement
  • Test Management
    • Part 1: Strategic Test Management
    • Part 2: Operational Test Management
    • Part 3: Managing the Test Team
  • Individual parts are generally provided as separate courses.
  • Separate certification exams are provided for each part
  • Achieving certification in all parts results in „full“ certification for the particular subject.

Further syllabi will be developed according to market needs.

The courses

Recommended course durations vary, but are a minimum of 5 days. Each syllabus defines the specific times required to teach and provide practical exercises.

A course does not need to be provided in one continuous block; it may be split up to allow practical application in the work place.

Class sizes are limited to 10 persons to enable personal focus from the lecturer.

The exam

As an expert must not only be able to show knowledge, but also in depth practical skills, an exam only using multiple choice questions is not preferred. The exam will therefore consist of essay type questions, partly mixed with some multiple choice questions. The type of essay type questions will be questions that ask the 'expert' to look at a given topic from different perspectives, compare and draw conclusions. The specific rules for examination will be defined in the detailed expert level module syllabus. It will in principle also be possible to take the exam, without having followed the training.

The Expert Level exam is expected to last at least 3 hours. A minority of that time consists of multiple-choice questions, but the principal part of the exam consists of written "essay-type" questions.

Maintaining an Expert Level certification

Once certification at Expert Level has been achieved it is valid for 5 years. At the end of this period the certification must be renewed. This may be achieved either by re-taking the exam or by demonstrating that particular activities have been performed during that period (e.g. peforming relevant professional testing tasks, attending conferences, writing articles etc. ). The rules and criteria which govern this process are defines in the Expert Level Certification Extension Program (CEP) which is overseen by the ISTQB® and may be tailored by National Boards.